Highlighted
Established Member

Quickbooks Online Newbie? Take a minute and walk in my shoes...

Hello everyone. Just wanted to take a minute and introduce myself to the community. I am a Commercial and Residential Paint Contractor in Southern Indiana. I am also a complete tech geek and total newbie to Quickbooks Online.  The initial thought of diving in and taking control and oversight of my business finances was extremely intimidating to say the least.  However, I can honestly say within just a couple weeks time, after watching numerous tutorial videos found on Intuit and also on Youtube, I am starting to really get in a comfortable with navigation, sending estimates, classfiying expenses, etc.

My advice to any newbie's like myself is very simple.  Take it seriously but don't pop any gaskets from stressing over it.  Simply watch the tutorials and soak them in.  Quickbooks has made the entire process simpler than you realize.  Also look in your area or online for Quickbooks Online trainers.  There are many out there and they are cost effective to say the least unless of course you like paying CPA's way more hourly wages then necessary.

In the end I am learning new functions and logistics every day from using Quickbooks and not intentionally trying to sound like an infomercial I can say Quickbooks Online is an amazing product and extremely user friendly if you just give it a chance. 

When you are starting to learn Quickbooks and watching videos, if you start to get stressed out or feel lost, step back for a minute take a break and gather your thoughts. It will surprise you how after relaxing your brain for a minute will bring together all that information in your mind that you absorbed earlier.  Then when you sit down and go over it again chances are it will start to "click" and become a little clearer.