Highlighted
Community Host

One Woman’s Luxury Gift Boxing Success Story

giftbox1.pngName: Joanna Misunas  

Business: Sojourn Box
Founded: 2014

As a child, Joanna Misunas loved growing up in sunny Santa Cruz, California. As an adult, Joanna found herself as an ambassador of sorts to her home city, introducing people she met to all the things that make Santa Cruz special. Joanna realised she could capture some of that magic in a Santa-Cruz-inspired gift box. Today, as the founder of Sojourn Box, Joanna spends her days designing, marketing and refining her beautiful boxes filled with geographically specific goods.

What’s the story behind your business?
Sojourn Box was inspired by a culmination of things. Firstly, I’ve always loved artisanal goods, beautiful aesthetics and trying new products. Secondly, I got a subscription for a beauty box called Birchbox, which I thought it was a really clever idea. I kept thinking about that subscription box! And thirdly, when I was in acupuncture school, I found myself becoming the go-to source for all things Santa Cruz - telling people where to go and what products to try.

About a week after realising acupuncture wasn’t the path for me, I had the idea for Sojourn Box. My gift boxes contain things like locally made honey or jam, tea, chocolate and body care products. I also include a “local’s guide” to the featured city and a link to a list of top 10 songs related to the city. I guess I’ve always had an entrepreneurial spirit, although I didn’t ever plan to run my own business.

How do you spread the world about Sojourn Box?
I sell Sojourn Boxes mostly online. I also love going to artisanal markets, especially during the Christmas season. I’ve dabbled in selling on Etsy too.

As Sojourn Box has grown, I’ve cut back on going to shows in favour of fulfilling corporate orders. Companies love giving our boxes to employees, partners and clients.