Highlighted
Community Host

The Business of Love: Steve Lawrence is Enchanted by Chocolate and it Shows in His Gorgeous Sweets

large.jpegName: Steve Lawrence 

Business: The Chocolate Maker’s Studio

Founded: 2008

Chocolatier Steve Lawrence has been in the food business since he got his first job as a pot washer in a restaurant as a teenager. Now he’s risen to the top, with his own fine chocolate business! We were able to grab a few sweet moments with Steve to talk about his growing business, the science of chocolate and how much his wife loves his job.

How did you get into the chocolate business?

Many years ago, I was a pastry chef. I’d always enjoyed working with chocolate but found it challenging. For such a simple food, chocolate is very complex in the way it responds to time and temperature and movement. When my wife and I moved in the 1990s, I went to work for another chocolatier. I was intimately involved in the chocolate production, which made it clear to me that chocolate is where I wanted to focus my career.

What has been your biggest challenge?

That you can't do everything by yourself and expect everything to be done well. Most artisans like to focus on their craft, not on the business side.

ChocolateMakersStudioHearts.jpgDark chocolate hearts with real flakes of gold. (Source: @chocolatemakersstudio)

Do you have any employees?

During busy seasons, like Valentine’s or Christmas, I'll bring in someone to do packaging, but I don't have any full-time employees yet. As business has increased dramatically over the past 2 years, it's become clear I'll have to make the transition to becoming an employer soon.

When was the moment you knew your business was a success?

The Chocolate Makers Studio has existed since 2008, but I knew after returning to home 2.5 years ago that things were taking off.